Thursday, August 24, 2017

The candidate who scored the highest in the CIA exam will receive the William S. Smith Award, named in honor of William S. Smith, CIA, The IIA’s first Chairman of the Board of Regents, a former IIA Chairman of the Board, and a driving force behind the development of the Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) program.


Awards are based on individual performance on the core CIA exam parts (parts 1, 2, and 3). With year-round testing, award recipients must pass each exam part on their first attempt within one year of taking the first exam part.


Awards are:

  • William S. Smith Award – Gold
  • AJ Hans Spoel Ward – Silver
  • Kurt Riedener Award – Bronze
  • Dr. Glenn Summers Award – Student
  • The next 10 top scorers are recognized for their achievements with Certificate of Excellence.
  • The IIA also recognized the next top 50 highest scores with a Certificate of Honor.
  • The IIA also recognizes those who scored the highest on the specialty exams.

Awardees from Philippines

YearGoldSilverBronzeCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of Honor
2016Julius Mondala
Brian Stone
2015Carmela Stephanie HauJames Sherwin Credo
Jerome Afable
2014Jobina San Antonio
Angelo Bryant Licup
Abigail Patupat
2013Ariadne Buscato
2012Adrian Edrosa
Janrich Vasquez
2011Michael Saniel
Grace Divina Agtay
Gilbert Cayabyab
Cielo Diano
Rosaline Geslani
Xerxes Noel Ordanez
Jaycee Ann Santos
Melissa Camille Zarate
2010Shiela Lim
Mariel Rose Pascua
Ramon Bantigue
2009Maria Soledad Remiter
Carla Cristina Tolentino
Gillianne Roselle Say
Jason Jimenez
Rosebelle Verzonilla
2008Ricky Navarro
2007Elisheba Manzano
Ryan Gilbert Chua
Alvin Caballero
Joseph Cruz
Christine Aserios
Suzy Lyn bayona
Renee Lyn Santos
Christopher Abelinde
Leo Caldona
Annaliza Tan-Cimafranca
Marco Fernando Ng
Annabeth Rodriguez
Kristine Marie Sy
Crystle Lorraine Tan
Gilda Anabell Uy
Jameswil Yadang
2006Mark Lenin Quintana
Ferdinand Mariscotes
Pol Mirafuentes
Sarah Camille Oblepias
Chris Paete
Diana Chua
Kristopper Cruz
Henry Aldave
Vima Marie Lim
Mark Cyril Rafael
2005Duchess Marie Cruz
Aileen Aviso
Emmanuel Manalo
Francisco Sarmiento
Marichu Moratalla
Rolando Soliven
2004Duke Bajenting
Kathleen Aton-Osias
Chris Joan Pua
2003Melanie Oteyza
Jesse Teo
Steve Damazo
Jonathan Marquez
Joseph Ostermann
Elvira Soriano
2002Norman Gabriel
Theta Marbella
2001Brian Athaide
2000Garry Ng



  • 2008 Start of Computer Based-Testing
  • 2004-Change of Syllabus